Goa, India

Going to Goa was an unexpected random trip!

A friend of ours Reneil suggested we do a trip and suddenly it happened. I must admit I should have researched more for this trip but I just moved back to Macau and started my new position as head teacher so I didn’t give it the attention it needed however I still knew I was in good hands cos I had Enslin and Reneil who were travelers themselves and busy researching for us.

IMG-20190604-WA0009

The trip was quite an adventure but not my greatest one as I was sick throughout it. I was sick prior to the trip so it just got worse on the trip. Unfortunately this definitely affected my mood so I might not have enjoyed Goa the way I should have as I was quite a grumpy lady!

Nonetheless it’s still a memorable trip that was great to experience with 2 of my closest friends. We ate really great food, some fantastic seafood especially crab, drank cheap but great beer and also enjoyed swimming in the warmest of Indian ocean waters! The crab was the best masala crab we had ever eaten and made us genuinely very happy people. The mouthgasms were real!

We rented a car and traveled 2 hours out to Dudhsagar falls  to the beginning of the tour, from there we have to get into a 4×4 and then travel 2 hours up towards the falls and mountain – for those Bollywood lovers this is where Chennai Express with Sharukh Khan was filmed. Enslin traveled through Mumbai prior to meeting me and made a friend from Germany, Sebastian- who joined us on this road trip
We had a fantastic time at the falls and loved swimming, after such a hot day the cool water was so welcomed!

Locals were entertaining to watch, many of them not even swimmers but still had so much fun, the expressions on their faces won’t be forgotten, neither will I forget the random monkeys meditating.

20190605_142326

There are fishes even that swam with us and that was certainly one of my favourite parts!! Another was the 4 of us passing out on our way down.  🤣

IMG-20190605-WA0022

I had been sick throughout this trip so I personally had a great time in all the local toilets from the hotel and back. Haha!

62362778_10216508576921679_762383190693249024_n

Other highlights were meeting 2 beautiful ladies from Mumbai, Anushree and Pooja, who joined us at a local spot called Charlie’s located on the beach. My cousins friend Bob Jaan even came to meet us and if you are ever in Goa I suggest going to this awesome spot if you’re into some late night trippy dancing, drinks and food.

Our first inn Mateus Boutique out of all 3 was the most memorable wholly due to the history of the place and the breakfast we enjoyed there. I even made sure to ask one of the cooks for the recipe of his brekkie! The rooms were spacious, it was located in a central area and again the home made food! We got to enjoy a cruise out into the river to see more of the area – if you ever do these cruises make sure to do it in the day or at sunset. While the night is beautiful you don’t always have lit up areas to enjoy the scenery to its fullest.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I must mention “the hostel crowd” – Jungle that we stayed in at Anjuna, as they were really well organized with lots of activities planned as well as very helpful with all our questions and needs. This was also a great location near the beach and if you’re up for some local partying this is the area to find some great spots. We went with our hostels suggestion to a place called Soho. Awesome old school hip hop and RnB, open space, the food was divine esp the spinach and feta pizza and some really beautiful women I must say! As an observation Goa looks like the party city for locals from other parts of India to come and let loose without any worries. Like a Girls Gone Wild India version! This was thoroughly entertaining to watch.

Massages are always a must do in my books, but Goa isn’t the typical kind of experience. A strict female masseuse for women and male masseuse for men is applied unless going to main areas such as Baga and Calangute Beach where Thai spas are found within the main shopping streets and clubs. Nonetheless Enslin and I spoiled ourselves with some standard relaxing head treatments while I had a full body and this is our happy faces after!

IMG-20190609-WA0019

Speaking of Baga and Calangute Beach, this is some views for the eyes of restaurants laid out on the beach creating such a chilled out fun vibe for any occasion! If you’re interested in partying then of course there is a street filled with clubs, on the other hand it’s shopping streets galore! I couldn’t believe these 3 men decided to walk with me while I shopped amongst crowded streets and traffic plus humidity but I am sure they pretended to love it while hating me! 😀

IMG-20190608-WA0000

If there is one lesson I learned from traveling here is that everything is a proper distance away therefore hiring a car is one of the most practical ways of getting around, other then hiring a private driver that is. If you have a few days pick what you’re most interested in and focus on that, otherwise you’re basically spending most of your time traveling to places.

Another highlight was a personal one as we experienced what it’s like digging into the archives of personal Goa history. Reason being that Enslin’s grandfathers – great grandfather was born there and we were tracing the history to find his birth certificate in one of the churches of Goa ! The amount of historical books they have in the archives was impressive.

Overall Goa was an interesting experience, especially being South African Indian myself and immersing myself within the culture as a local looking person and as a foreigner. My favourite thing by far tho in every place of Goa was the food! Hands down some of the best food I got to enjoy on a daily basis which doesn’t always happen when traveling. Love love love!

rugrats eating GIF

Leave a comment

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑